• Council of Europe Cultural Routes Member States Annual Meeting in Luxembourg on 14-15 April 2016

    24 member States of the Council of Europe Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes (EPA) met in Luxembourg on 15 and 16 April 2016. They welcomed two new Observer States (Poland and Norway), the European Parliament (Silvia Costa, President of the EP Culture and Education Committee), European Commission (Carlo Corazza, Head of Unit, DG GROW) and UNWTO (Taleb Rafai, Secretary General, via videolink).

    Member States were called to evaluate certification requirements of 8 certified Cultural Routes (The Hansa, Iter Vitis, St. James Ways, Via Francigena, Routes of El Legado of andalusi, The Phoenicians Routes, Route of Ceramics and Casadean Sites). Cultural Routes managers of all Cultural Routes under evaluation travelled to Luxembourg to present their Route to the EPA Governing Board, respond to the experts evaluation reports and exchange views with the members of the Governing Board.

    EPA awarded a new Council of Europe Cultural Route certification to the Fortified Towns of the Grande Region.

    Among the topics of the Governing Board meetings, participants discussed the EPA 2016-2020 strategy, the possible extension of its Observer status to new stakeholders, as well as the 2016 Vilnius Forum (26-28 October 2016).